Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roland R-8 ROM Dump

Newbie here,

With inspiration from the TR-505 bending and hacking thread I decided to try to venture into the R-8 ROM and see what is there (note: the service manual is easily found by internet search for pinouts, I also have dump of a ROM card).

It seems like the ROM dump comes scrambled like 505 and 626 (this time it is 16bit).

I am attaching the dump and taking any suggestions on where to go from here. I hear mostly noise when I try to playback, but you can hear some of the drum hits through the noise.. From what I read on the 505 thread there could be bits that need to be swapped in every byte, there could be odd/even bit decoding, etc. But this is my first time venturing into hacking/dumps/decoding, so hopefully someone can use their ears and brain and venture some guesses on how to decode.

Cheers!

(edited R-8)
    Attached Files
    Last edited by ripsnort; Wed 28-09-2016, 3:28 AM.

Hey Rip - welcome along!

Had a play with that dump file - opening it in various editors as a .raw file - this will force the editor (wavlab in my case) to ask if the file is 8 or 16 bit or whatever, so You can try lots of various ways to play it back..

16 or 8 bit does not really matter in this case, as it just plays back faster or slower. Also, the speed it plays back at is not really any help, as programmers would always speed up the samples to store them in less space.

It does sound like it's got some issues alright - but i think it's not a matter of it being the physical lines to the chip being jumbled up as in the case of the 505. the sound of the raw 505 rom unscrambled is just all noise and garbage, YOUR dump clearly has some sounds buried in there - especially in the second half of the file as it plays - You can hear all manner of clanging and so on.